Family Dinner Week 3

This was a very hectic week indeed.  And have to say that when I am not around, not a lot of dinner cooking gets done. Even if I leave plans.  Oh well.

So without further ado, and because my time is so limited this week:

Monday: I was out at a meeting and then meditation class, the boys went out for pizza.

Tuesday: Homemade turkey meatballs (they were so good last week I had to do it again, though I have to admit they weren’t as good this time, maybe because I left out the parmesan), homemade pesto (with basil that I grew myself-yahoo!), brown rice spaghetti (the one from Trader Joe’s is really quite good!), blanched broccoli from the farmers market.

I blanched the broccoli quickly in the pasta water before I boiled the pasta, then threw it in a bowl of ice water to keep it nice and green and still a little crisp.  My former broccoli lover still didn’t eat it…

Wednesday: Homemade beet hummus (it was so good, I don’t know why I buy hummus, it’s never very good), tortilla chips, bread, leftover broccoli, cut up carrots, celery, and radishes, avocado.

For the hummus I used 1 can of garbanzo beans, 1 small roasted beet, a few tablespoons of tahini, the juice of about 3/4 of a lemon, 1 clove of garlic, a glug of olive oil, fresh chives and parsley, and salt and pepper.  I’ve never been able to get my son to eat beets but he loved this hummus, it was a gorgeous hue of red/pink and was delicious too.  He loved it! He also made himself a broccoli and carrot sandwich. Ha.

2014-06-18 18.29.40

Thursday: I was working and husband was away, so I had to pack up lunch AND dinner for my son at the sitters house.  Whew.  At least I got in lots of fruits and vegetables.

Friday: Annie’s gluten-free mac and cheese, fresh mozzerella, roasted red pepper and basil salad, roasted beets, roasted asparagus and carrots, roasted radishes, corn on the cob.

This was a clean-out-the-fridge night meal.  We are going away tomorrow and didn’t want to waste all those beautiful vegetables! I have to say I never thought of roasting radishes, and it was SO delicious.  I will definitely do it again.  I like radishes but only in small amounts, and I can never use them up before they go funky.  I can’t remember where I saw the recipe, but it was so simple.  Slice the radishes thin and throw them in a baking dish with a tablespoon of butter and some salt and pepper. I roasted mine on 375 (though most recipes call for a bit hotter) and when the butter melted I just stirred it around a bit.  I roasted them til they were soft and shrively and a little brown, probably about 25 minutes.  Yum.

One response

  1. Pingback: Family Dinners, final edition. | Brilliant Bites

Leave a Reply

